Neo-Futurist Architecture Week Eight

This session kicked off with a recap of everything we had done this term. We then discussed a new group called Man Town Human which was made up of six members, the groups view is similar to what Marinetti and Sant’Elia said. Man Town Human don’t understand “why we have to meet certain requirements, the needs of humans should come first ahead of the environment.” Another quote is “Why should humans be second to nature, exploit the so-called natural world.” These views worry me a lot as if we designed the way Man Town Human (MTH) wanted the world wouldn’t be suitable for future generations. This makes me think that MTH have completely forgot about the future generations in all of their ideas, in my opinion this is completely wrong as we should think about the future generations as they are the future of this world.

We were then given a quote from Antonio Sant’Elia, this would then be used as the discussion for our formative assessment. The question asking us on our opinion about decoration in architecture and whether we found it necessary or not.

To conclude my first term of constellation I am still happy with my choice to study this topic, as I think that the information I have gathered during this term will help me in my future design life. I can safely say that I will be using bio mimicry in my future work as I find it interesting how we can learn from nature.

Leave a comment